Yankee Wife Plague to Husband

Mets lost,I’m in the dog house. After staying up late to finish a project, I snuck upstairs to go to bed around 12:30 a.m. I heard the snores from my husband, so I knew it was safe to go in–afterall, the Mets just lost to the Cardinals and they’re now down in the series 3-2.

I hit the bed with a sigh and he suddenly woke up, took his pillows, quietly closed the door and went downstairs. I couldn’t believe it! He couldn’t stand to be near me because the freakin’ Mets lost. I was pretty angry, but decided to let it go at that moment. When I woke up at 5:15 a.m. to see him getting ready for work, I thought about saying something, but again, a cooler head prevailed.

When I made my coffee at 7 a.m., I wanted to text message him, but didn’t. Such restraint, or maybe not. For 11 years, my October schedule has been dictated by the Yankees. If they won, I stayed up late. If they lost, I often slept on the couch because I could hear him cheering quietly when they would strike out or the other team would get a run. I just hated that he hated them so much; therefore, he must be against me, right?

It’s all so dumb. The Yankees nor the Mets affect my income or help me raise my kids better. Yet, both of us let them affect our psychee. I was being a little high and mighty questioning my husband’s behavior over the Mets’ loss–I’m just as bad, if not worse.

The only thing I pride myself on this point is that I do not yell or get out of control. I’m quiet and when they lose, I go away. That’s what I did after the Yankees dropped their third game in a row to Detroit. I went to bed and brooded through my disappointment for about two weeks. I’m just starting to handle the whole thing.

Again, dumb. But, alas, I’m nursing my wounds by trying to route for the Mets. It hasn’t been easy, but it’s teaching me humility. I’ll say nothing to my husband and hope for, well, a win for the Mets. Although, if they lose, all this brooding will be closer to ending. This is no way to be a fan. Somewhere in all of this, it’s supposed to be fun. I think that might happen next April.

One comment

  1. pmrn3@aol.com

    I feel so sorry for you…. it has to be very hard to be with a man who takes it out on you when his team loses, and then,actually gets excited when your team loses too… a good mate, I think would allow you to root for your favorite team without getting ugly and imature. I think you’d better get ready to sleep on the couch, because the Mets are not going to the World Series this year, the only reason they are in first and everybody in baseworld knows this is because they are in the worst talented division in major league baseball.

Leave a Reply

